fbpx

Phenix Salon Suites

Virgina

Southern Virginia

New Jersey

New York

Maryland

Washington D.C.

Virgina

Southern Virginia

New Jersey

New York

Maryland

Washington D.C.

Everything you need to know to get your cosmetology license in New York and New Jersey!

This blog is your go-to resource for everything you need to know about obtaining your cosmetology license in the vibrant states of New York and New Jersey. Join us on this journey as we break down the steps, and empower you to embark on a fulfilling career in the ever-evolving realm of cosmetology.

New York.

A cosmetology license allows you to provide service to the hair, head, face, neck or scalp of a human being, including but not limited to shaving, trimming, and cutting the hair or beard either by hand or mechanical appliances and the application of antiseptics, powders, oils, clays, lotions or applying tonics to the hair, head, or scalp, and in addition includes providing, for a fee or any consideration or exchange, whether direct or indirect, services for the application of dyes, reactive chemicals, or other preparations to alter the color or to straighten, curl, or alter the structure of the hair of a human being. It is the responsibility of licensees to understand the Appearance Enhancement Law.

Applicants are required to apply for their license on the New York State e-Licensing system. You must have a NY.gov ID account. In order to get your account, you should go to my NY.gov Online Services, and create your ID account.

To apply for a Cosmetology license, you must:

  1. Be 17 years old.
  2. Complete a 1,000-hour approved course of study and pass both the New York State written and practical examinations. In addition, the Affirmation of New York State Approved Schooling section of the application must be completed by your school director as proof of successful completion.
  3. Be examined by a physician, physician’s assistant, or nurse practitioner. The physician, physician’s assistant, or nurse practitioner must complete and date the Health Certification section of the application. You must submit your application within 30 days after the health certification is signed and dated.

There are several ways to apply for a license:

1. New York State Education and Examinations.

(Eligible for Temporary License)

In this case, you must complete a 1,000-hour approved course of study and pass both the New York State written and practical examinations to get a license to operate in this state. As proof of successful completion of schooling, you must have the Affirmation of New York State Approved Schooling section of the application completed by your school director.

Keep in mind that since June 17, 2020, all operator applicants qualifying based on the completion of NYS education must complete a 1-hour course on Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Awareness. You can complete the course before submitting your application by visiting this page.

After your application is reviewed and accepted, you will receive information that explains the exam process in detail.

2. Education Outside of New York State.

(Eligible for Temporary License)

The Department of State may waive the New York State schooling requirement if you can document an equivalent level of schooling from another state or country. You must submit all three of the following documents:

  1. School Certificate.
  2. School transcript listing subjects and hours completed.
  3. Current/Original Certification of Licensure from your state board or, if not licensed, a current Certification from your state’s board verifying the hours claimed.

After your application is reviewed and accepted, you will also be required to pass both the New York State written and practical examinations to obtain a Cosmetology license in this state. You will receive information that explains the exam process in detail.

3. Experience: 5 Years Outside of New York State.

If you’ve five years or more of legal experience in an occupation equivalent to cosmetology, you can apply for a New York State license! You just need to show that you’ve got the right education and experience. Here are the two ways to apply under this section:

  • Within the United States experience:

You must submit the following documents;

  1. An original certification from the licensing agency you were previously licensed with. 
  2. Two experience statements filled out by former employers, co-workers, and clients, that can claim your experience in the state for at least five years. ¹
  3. Copy of tax returns that indicate cosmetology as an occupation.

¹ These experience statements must include EXACT dates (month and year of start of service and month and year of end of service), location (City, State, shop name), and specific services that you performed.

  • Outside of the United States experience:

You must submit the following documents, keep in mind that evidence may include but is not limited to the following:

  1. Official certification from the licensing authority in your country or verification from the Consulate that a license is not required to practice this occupation in your country.
  2. Detailed letters from employer(s) in your country specifying EXACT dates of employment, location, and specific services that you performed.
  3. Detailed letters from your client(s), or coworker(s), in your country, specifying EXACT dates of service, location, and specific services you performed.
  4. Copy of passport which indicates cosmetology as occupation, driver’s license, workbook with cosmetology experience, or any photo identification.
  5. Copies of course curricula and diplomas/certificates for education completed in your country.
  6. Copy of tax returns that indicate cosmetology as an occupation.

After your application is reviewed and accepted, you may obtain a Cosmetology license in New York State without examination or further education.

4. Endorsement / Reciprocity.

If you have a Cosmetology license from another jurisdiction, you can get a Cosmetology license in New York! Just check the Cosmetology endorsement or reciprocity lists to see if you qualify. Refer to the Cosmetology endorsement or reciprocity lists to determine if you qualify for licensure based on endorsement or reciprocity.

An applicant must submit an original certification from the jurisdiction where s/he holds an equivalent license.

5. Previous New York State Licensure.

If you forget to renew your license within five years after it expires, you’ll need to pass the written exam to get it back. Also, they might ask for proof that you had the license before.

*Keep in mind, that the data presented herein has been sourced exclusively from the official website of the New York State. For more information regarding fees, as well as written and practical examinations pertinent to the acquisition of the NY Cosmetology License, we recommend consulting their official webpage.

New Jersey.

Unlocking the world of beauty services and becoming a licensed professional in New Jersey is an exciting journey that opens doors to creativity, skill, and client satisfaction. Whether you’re a hairstyling, a manicurist, or a skin care specialist, the path to becoming a certified cosmetologist in the Garden State involves a series of essential steps and specific requirements. In this short and comprehensive guide, we’ll delve into the intricacies of acquiring a cosmetology license in New Jersey, outlining the vital stages and detailing the necessary processes for aspiring specialists.

Cosmetologist-Hairstylist:

  1. Be at least 17 years of age.
  2. Provide proof of successful completion of high school or its equivalent.
  3. Provide proof of successful completion of 1,200 hours of instruction in cosmetology and hairstyling at an approved school in New Jersey, another state, or a foreign country. Training completed in another state or a foreign country must, in the opinion of the Board, be substantially similar to that offered at licensed schools within New Jersey.
  4. Take and pass an examination administered by the Board.

Manicurist:

  1. Be at least 17 years of age.
  2. Provide proof of successful completion of high school or its equivalent.
  3. Provide proof of successful completion of 300 hours of instruction in manicuring at an approved school in New Jersey, another state, or a foreign country. Training completed in another state or foreign country must, in the opinion of the Board, be substantially similar to that offered at licensed schools within New Jersey.
  4. Take and pass an examination administered by the Board.

Skin Care Specialist:

  1. Be at least 17 years of age.
  2. Provide proof of successful completion of high school or its equivalent.
  3. Provide proof of successful completion of a 600-hour course of instruction at an approved school in New Jersey, another state, or a foreign country. Training completed at a school in another state or foreign country must, in the opinion of the Board, be substantially similar to that offered at licensed schools within New Jersey.
  4. Take and pass an examination administered by the Board.

Also, there is the option of licensure by endorsement, which is available to cosmetologist-hairstylist candidates who meet the criteria for cosmetologist-hairstylist licensure and currently possess a valid license as both a barber and beautician in another state or a foreign country.

In addition, for each of these applications, there are some phases and timelines, that are divided as follows:

  • Phase I (1 week): This is the estimated time between receipt of a completed application (online or paper) and the Board’s initial review of the application and supplemental documentation. Initial review consists of ensuring all documents have been received, but not necessarily reviewed. At the conclusion of Phase I, the Board will email you instructions regarding how to complete the Criminal History Record Request process and advise you of any application deficiencies such as a photo, exam scores, educational evaluation, experience document if applicable, and verification of other jurisdiction licensure, if applicable.
  • Phase II (Private School Graduates 4-6 Weeks / Vocational School Graduates 2-3 Weeks): Is the estimated time between Phase I, receipt of any remaining application deficiencies, and completion of work in a salon for 30 days (if required). Applications with criminal history or requiring additional review may add additional time to Phase II. Please note Phase II is contingent on applicant action. The estimated timeframe assumes the applicant takes immediate action when notified of application deficiencies.
  • Phase III (1-2 Weeks): This is the estimated time between Phase II and when the application is approved. Upon final review and approval of your application, a license will be issued to you. You should receive your hard copy registration in the mail within 10-15 business days. To verify the status of your license and to view your license number, please visit the verification website.

*Keep in mind that the data presented herein has been sourced exclusively from the official website of the New Jersey State. For more information regarding the acquisition of the NJ Cosmetology License, we recommend consulting their official webpage.

Related
Posts

Business people are brainstorming
4 Pillars you need to start your beauty business.
When launching a beauty business, you’ll find success by building upon four crucial pillars: Branding,...
Read More
pexels-airam-datoon-15189496
Promote Your Business on Instagram.
Instagram, a digital haven for captivating images and engaging videos, has evolved from a platform for...
Read More
blonde-woman-with-mobile-phone-getting-her-hair-done
Educate to Innovate.
In the ever-evolving world of beauty and salon services, staying ahead of the competition is crucial....
Read More